Skip to content

Justice for your city

May 24, 2011

Several years ago, I visited my friend, Sarah, in San Diego. Sarah worked as a Social worker with Catholic Charities at the time, and was aware of the resources that the city had to offer. One sunny day we were driving downtown with the windows rolled down. We stopped at a stoplight, right next to a man who was panhandling from the median.

Hungry

Photo Credit

The conversation went something like this:

Man: Can you help me out? I need money for food.

Sarah: No, I’m not going to give you money.

Man: I don’t have anything, I need money.

Sarah: There are a lot of resources available in the city for you. I’m not giving you any money.

Man: Come on, I can’t go to those places. What I really need is money for food.

Sarah: I’m not giving you any money. There is (names a place) and they can help you there. If I give you money, it’s going to keep you here on the streets. I want more for you than for you to be out here asking people for money. If I give you money that just keeps you here and tomorrow you’ll be hungry again.

He didn’t like Sarah’s response. He couldn’t take the “no” and kept bothering her until the light turned green and we drove off. Sarah’s mini lecture may not have stayed in his memory, but it stayed in mine.

What is it that I really want for other people? I want them to love and be loved. I want all people, including myself, to know true justice. I don’t always know what that looks like, but I don’t want to assume that the right answer will be shouted down to me from heaven when someone is in desperate need and looking to me for help.

No matter where you are reading this from, whether a major metropolitan city or an unincorporated town, at some point you are going to come into contact with someone who is searching for justice. That could be a man or woman who is hungry and panhandling on the streets. That could be a woman who is living in a domestic violence situation. That could be a son who is not wanted by his parents. What does justice look like for them?

Does justice mean giving money and driving away, or does justice mean offering myself and my gifts/skills?

I don’t know and I’m not going to tell you there’s an answer, because sometimes there isn’t one.

What I can promise you is that you will be much more capable of finding an answer if you educate yourself on the available resources in your city. Sarah did offer this man something. It wasn’t what he asked for, but she chose not to ignore him or leave him empty-handed. She knew what she had to offer, and she knew that if he was hungry, there was more than one option available to him.

For those of you who don’t want to spend the time studying the names of all of the organizations in town (not many people do), there are still some things that you can do today so that when you find yourself needing some information, you aren’t left feeling helpless.

WHAT YOU CAN DO:

  1. Save in your phone or memorize your town’s Non-Emergency number. This is a police number (police exist to help you, not just to give out speeding tickets). Using this number allows 9-1-1 to remain available for life-threatening emergencies only. You can find this number in the phone book, the internet, or even by walking in to your local police station. They won’t arrest you, I promise.
  2. 2-1-1. Know this number! It’s like 9-1-1, only for information. When you dial 2-1-1, you give your first name only and your zip code. They have a searchable database of organizations, and the operators are friendly experts. Last night, I used this number to help a friend. All of his identifying documents had been stolen and his only hope for getting off of the streets was his birth certificate in Colorado. Stranded, he needed bus fare. I called 2-1-1 and gave him the number for travel assistance. He now has the choice to go there, advocate for himself, and receive assistance from someone more informed than I.
  3. Volunteer. You learn about other organizations by osmosis.
  4. Resourcehouse.org
    A searchable database similar to the one used by 2-1-1 operators. Just surfing it for 10 minutes today will give you an idea of what’s around.
  5. Find a list. Hospitals have them, churches have them, the internet has them, lists are everywhere. If you take an hour out of your day this week, I’m sure you’ll find one. If you need help, send me a message. For example, Nashville has a pamphlet with all of the available meals in town – times and addresses. There are at least 2 free meals offered for every meal, every day of the week, in Nashville. Find lists and keep them in your glove box, in your office, in your backpack and don’t be afraid to give them away. Here’s one for Nashville.

BOTTOM LINE:

Don’t try to memorize all of the available resources in your town. Just know how to find the information, because someday, someone is going to ask you for it. Give them dignity by offering of yourself while letting them be responsible for their own story.

What did I miss? Feel free to fill in the blanks or leave your opinion.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. jess permalink
    May 30, 2011 10:52 pm

    Good post. I often wonder about justice myself. It is difficult to even measure because it means something different to each person. Plato said a just society is one in which the people are wise, temperate, and most of all do their duty. This is interesting to me because we can be lead astray by simply doing what we know inside is wrong. His star pupil Aristotle saw justice as something that produces happiness for the whole community. This was one of his virtues. To him people weren’t born virtuous – you only became this way through practice. Simply put you cannot help the world by doing nothing. Others believe in a corrective type of justice – or more simply – an eye for an eye. This is often seen as the law of nature. This type of justice is dangerous because it breeds resentment and retribution. Moreover, when have two wrongs ever made a right? I honestly don’t know what justice is for society, but I do know with empathy and outreach we can make the world slightly better than we found it.

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      May 31, 2011 10:26 am

      “Simply put you cannot help the world by doing nothing. ” My thoughts, exactly.

  2. Constance permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:59 pm

    This scenario happens frequently to me, usually at Walgreens drugstores for whatever reason! I’ve chosen to ask the person to meet me at the grocery store across the street. We go to the deli where they make delicious sub sandwiches. One of those along with a salad and the very immediate need (hunger) is taken care of. Then I explain some of the social services that are offered in the area. Now, I can’t say everyone meets me, but it’s better than 50% of the time.

    I have a friend who *always* carries food with her. She has three children, so it’s to be expected! Whenever she is approached for money for food, she gives some of what she has in her vehicle. I like how she has handled this challenge.

    With the economy the way it is, this is happening more frequently where I live. Just for me, to only tell them about social services is not enough. It feels like I am putting the burden on someone else. I also find I learn a lot from folks in this situation. They’re a lot like any of us.

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      May 25, 2011 9:01 pm

      I like this idea, and have done similar things. I’ve also heard of people carrying restaurant gift certificates to hand out. Great ideas! Thanks, Constance.

  3. Sarah Martin permalink
    May 25, 2011 11:44 am

    This is the best I’ve read on the subject! I’m tweeting the link now. Good stuff, girl!

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      May 25, 2011 11:46 am

      Thanks, Sarah! I’m glad you found it helpful. Thanks for passing it along.

  4. May 25, 2011 8:41 am

    Good post, Kyla. I have often thought about the fact that Jesus always gave to those who asked, but he never gave money. He gave them what they needed. Although, it’s harder for us to know what people need, but I believe God will tell us that if we listen. It’s so much easier to give a few bills and drive away than to actually invest in the life of another person. None of us got to where we are today by people giving us money. Well, that helped, but we were also given teaching, encouragement, motivation, resources, etc.

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      May 25, 2011 8:44 am

      I don’t think I’ve ever noticed that Jesus didn’t give money. Great observation!

  5. May 25, 2011 1:29 am

    Hey I’m an ordained Elder of a church in Mississippi. I’m a P.K. (Pastor’s Kid), and through the years I’ve seen many things. I like how you provided the man with resources, and you allowed him to make a decision. Do you know how many people are afraid to talk to these kind of people? Loved this

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      May 25, 2011 8:16 am

      Thank you. I think Jesus gave people dignity, and if we’re going to do the same then we need to allow people to take responsibility for their own lives, if they are able. I think it’s easy to ignore people because we feel like we can’t offer anything, or don’t want to. If we’re prepared, giving comes easily.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Reading Roundup « Andy in Progress
  2. Justice For Your City | Clothe Your Neighbor as Yourself

Leave a Reply

