Skip to content

Celebrating new seasons

March 23, 2011

classic birthday cakeAnother Wednesday post, and it’s my Birthday! Two great things in one day.

I love growing older. Life really is like wine, it gets better with age. I don’t know who first said that, but I’m sure it was someone brilliant and amazing. One of my goals is to never complain about my age, but to see it as a gift. The chance to live another year, make more mistakes, love the people I’m around, and have too much fun.

As my birthday gift to myself, I bought a window box for my apartment balcony. I can’t wait to plant flowers and have some color there. If I ever put batteries in my camera, you might even see photos popping up here sometime.

To celebrate, this weekend I’m hosting a Macaroni & Cheese Cook-off. Yep. I am a huge Mac & Cheese fan, so I thought a little competition for the best recipe would be a great way to party. I get to be the judge (hello…birthday girl!) and I will gladly accept bribes, especially if they come in the form of tulips.

This week has been really difficult, and it’s only Tuesday. Truthfully, this season of life has been really difficult. I know enough to believe that this is only a season, that there are good things to come and to hope in. Yet the “darkness” has my heart aching. I’m really looking forward to the party this weekend, as a reason to celebrate and look forward. To hang on to the hope that maybe this will be the last week of this “dark” season. Saturday could be a marker for something new. That and I pierced my ears again. Sometimes a woman just needs a physical reminder of change (has anyone else noticed that Spring is finally here?!).

Fill up the comments: What do you do to mark new seasons?

Photo Credit

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joseph T. Richardson permalink
    March 24, 2011 6:14 pm

    Oof, you hit me on my busy day. Happy belated birthday! May you have a bright year.

    I am struck more by the continuity and constant evolution of my life. I seldom mark beginnings or ends. This age of my life has been unfolding steadily for the past five years. I keep a little pocket journal, each of which is filled up in about six months, but each volume is begun and ended with an affirmation of continuity.

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      March 27, 2011 9:17 pm

      Thanks, Joseph! I also keep a pocket journal, it’s such a great way to keep thoughts sorted. I spend many lunch breaks writing in it. I find that once the words are on paper, I’m able to let them go or at least process them better.

  2. Bethany Massey permalink
    March 24, 2011 1:33 pm

    A window box is a great self-birthday gift! Good thinking. I’m there with you on hoping for better days (I think it’s a general season for women our age). May this be a year of renewed joy and blessings for you, sweet friend.

  3. March 23, 2011 5:44 pm

    A window box is a GREAT idea. It’s been a bit of hard season for me, too, but I am believing with you – for us both – for brighter, clearer, more vibrant days ahead! Around the corner, in fact 🙂

    Oh, and thanks for the tip about tulips on Saturday. haha.

  4. March 23, 2011 3:14 pm

    Happy birthday, lovely! I’m exactly the same as you: I’ve come to see growing older as a celebration (imagine that). I made it another year! I’m still alive! I still get to live! Amazing.

    I love that you bought a flower box for yourself! Enjoy it. Eat some cake too.

Leave a Reply

