Skip to content

Just be You

March 2, 2011

During my commute to work this morning, I thought about why I enjoyed being around certain people. My immediate response to that question was “because that person/these people force me to be nothing other than completely myself.”

Not that I should ever be anything else, but I notice that I easily try to be what others need from me, instead of just myself. I’ll see approval from people with my decisions, instead of just owning my decision. I’ll stand back and watch life happen instead of being actively involved. I’ll respond to conflict passively, instead of approaching it as a chance for personal growth for all involved.

Well, that’s just ridiculous.

I wasn’t created to be someone else, I was created to be myself. brock // pure joy

Being around people who I know, without a doubt in my mind, require of me that I be myself, are incredibly wonderful to be around. Which takes me to a deeper question:

Am I choosing to be someone that isn’t just safe for others to be around, but who also purposefully creates space for others to be themselves?

Please don’t answer that in the comments. Instead,

Think about this: Are there people in your life who force you to be nothing other than completely yourself?

Answer this: What is one or two things that you really love about yourself?

I’ll go first. I love that I can strike up a conversation with just about anybody.

Your turn!

Photo by Nataliekbeats

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kyla joy permalink
    March 16, 2011 4:08 am

    hi…i like what you doing..by theway am kyla joy too,from TANZANIA….just wanted to say congrats

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      March 16, 2011 9:34 am

      You have a beautiful name. šŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting. If you have a blog, I’d love to read it!

Leave a Reply

