Skip to content

Confession Friday 1.1

November 5, 2010

Last week, I posted about the importance of confession, along with my experience in a church that practiced corporate confession.

This week, I have a confession.

I do not ask for help.

I tend to think that if I ask for help, I will be intruding on someone. I think that I should be able to handle things on my own.

The root of this issue is pride. Pride in thinking that I don’t need others around me, which essentially tells my community that I think I’m better than they are.

I would never, ever let any of my friends get away with this. If someone is in a place that they need help of some form, I would be so sad if they did not come to me and ask for it. What makes me think that my friends are any different? Again, pride.

Pride which, boiled down to its root, is fear. Fear that I’m not worthy of someone giving of their time to me (yet I wouldn’t hesitate to do this for someone else. This makes zero sense), and fear that I will be out of control.

I believe that perfect love casts out all fear. When I know that I am loved perfectly, the above paragraph will ultimately be canceled out, like a mathematical equation.

So, I need forgiveness from: God – for thinking that I am wiser than my creator, My friends: for not allowing them to give to me, Myself: for all of the above.

James 5:16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.

If you need to confess this week, find a safe place to do so.  Your actions impact those around you. Don’t hold onto it anymore.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    November 5, 2010 10:38 pm

    i feel the same way kyla. i don’t ask for help for the same reasons and i would be so sad if my friends didn’t ask me to help them. i know i am still holding onto many things and not truly letting go of them. man, i sure need god’s help with so many areas of my life. when i think about it, it makes me sad all the things i’m not giving to god. ugh.

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      November 8, 2010 4:21 pm

      sounds like we’re both in the same boat. Helps to know that though, because that’s the only way we can begin to change. Here’s to getting it wrong and not giving up.

Leave a Reply

