Skip to content

Joy of choosing

October 1, 2010

Life is full of little decisions.

Am I going to get out of bed, or hit the snooze button?

Cereal or eggs?

Return the phone call now, later, or never?

How do I respond to that comment?

What am I going to do with my anger?

Do I manipulate to get my way, or choose grace?

Do I call, or let him call me first?

Do I empty my work inbox, or update my blog?

Do I let this friendship go, or do I take the challenging road and stay?

How many thousands of decisions do I make each day that are insignificant, versus the ones that directly impact the course of my life? I remember a few major life decisions that crossed my path  in the past few years, and how I struggled with them for days, sometimes weeks. Since I am a perfectionist by nature, making the perfect decision was crucial to me.  I agonized over jobs, education, moving, friendship, or dating relationships. I invested myself into living life perfectly instead of simply living.

In John 10:10, Jesus says: “I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

I know that the theme of this blog is joy, and that I haven’t used the word so far today until this sentence. Take a look, though, at the previous quote. Jesus said that his purpose on earth was so that they (I’m thinking this means you and me) might have life abundantly. Not perfectly. Not without trials. But with abundance. To me, that encompasses the word joy.

Do you know, really know, that Jesus came for your abundant life? How are your daily decisions reflecting that knowledge?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2010 5:17 am

    I stress over those little things too. It drives me crazy sometimes. Nice reminder that no matter how stressful things are, we can still choose joy, and God hopes that we do. 🙂

  2. October 1, 2010 10:17 am

    I like this! It kinda ties in with what I wrote about today, in a weird roundabout way! Miss you lady!

    • kylajoyful permalink*
      October 1, 2010 10:31 am

      Thanks, Danica. What do you like about it? Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

