Skip to content

A life meant to be lived

June 10, 2010

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind, to say the least. I have a difficult time stopping to write it all down. I will try, though, to give you a little insight into what’s been going on.

First, I bought a computer! I have been so inundated with work in my day job, that I haven’t been able to keep up with this blog and other outside work. I had been doing all of my research and meeting preparations during breaks and down times in my office, but those are few and far between lately. Praise God for a new laptop, that I can use in the evenings. I even came in $17 under budget; I’m sure Dave Ramsey would approve.

Outside of the lovely day job, I am creeping along with abolitionist work (see previous posts). There are meetings to be had, notes to be typed, ideas to be compiled. Thank you, thank you, for your name suggestions. My perfectionist nature kicked in and currently prevents me from choosing a name, but I (we) are working on it. Feel free to continue to contribute. We are slowly creating a team of people to do this work, and I am constantly encouraged by those around me. My “business partner” and I know that where we are weak, God is made strong. While we have some great skills and knowledge to bring to the task at hand, we cannot and will not start a restoration home by ourselves. That would be…dumb. You can pray for us as we assemble a team, and lay out the framework for an organization. We really need those prayers.

Finally, a brief on how I am doing and what I’m feeling.

I’m overjoyed. Surrounding me is a strong community of friends, family, and soon-to-be-friends. I am content. I am full of life. I can’t stop smiling. I am busy, but finding time for myself, which includes time to grow and rest. Today I was encouraged to set aside specific time for personal growth, and I like this idea. I set aside time for fun and for rest, but not usually specifically for growth (outside of weekly church meetings). I keep thinking that I’m being prepared for more difficult times to come, and this may be true. However maybe life is meant to always be lived like this. To the fullest: joyful, fearless, hopeful, and content. Never being satisfied with knowing just enough, but always striving to know Christ more and live in His presence. I can be confident, content, and secure because of Christ’s unending love for me. Unafraid of the hard work ahead, because it’s work we’ve been called to do, a life we were meant to live. Peace.

I’m rambling a little. Probably due to the late hour and my mind being slightly preoccupied. Thanks for your thoughts and prayers. I’ll do my best to keep you posted!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 7:44 am

    Love this post, Kyla. It’s beautiful. I couldn’t have said it any better myself. Isn’t it great to have a dream to passionately pursue?! I think it’s amazing when we can see the path God has set out for us and then work diligently to do His work. It won’t always be easy, but it is incredibly satisfying to know that you are using your gifts to the fullest. You go, girl!

  2. June 10, 2010 10:36 pm

    “I keep thinking that I’m being prepared for more difficult times to come, and this may be true.”

    It is true. You are. The closer you get to opening this house and pulling these women away from the forces of darkness the more resistance you’re going to find spiritually.

    I’ll be praying for you. The way you step out is an encouragement in itself to many of us.

Leave a Reply

