Skip to content

New Hope

March 30, 2010

For the last several months, I have been training to run a 1/2 marathon. Yes, that’s 13.something miles. I’m shocked at how much I’m enjoying training and how short 13 miles seems. Every Saturday (well, except for the day I accidentally overslept) I have joined a team to run and prepare for the big race on April 24th. It’s been amazing. We run. We walk. We laugh. We talk. We complain. We sweat. We cheer.

If you have been reading this blog for a bit, you know that I’m a huge fan of Jesus Christ and of justice. I just happen to think the two go together. As a direct result of those believes, I’m often advocating for people, organizations, books, events, etc.

The 1/2 marathon is no exception.

It seems to be a trend to run for a cause. A bandwagon that, for once, I am more than happy to jump on.  So, take time to view the following video which will tell you all about New Hope Academy.

Mission:  New Hope Academy is a Christ-centered community school with an economically, racially, and culturally diverse student body.  It exists to serve low-income families by establishing a solid Biblical worldview, instilling vision, confirming hope and preparing each young person for a life of service.

I am attempting to raise $1000 for New Hope Academy through Team TobyMac (yes, that Christian Music Artist). If you are interested in donating, please visit my donation page here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 11:54 am

    You are going to kick butt!! How awesome that you are on team TobyMac. That is a great cause and you will never forget the feeling of crossing a finish line. So addicting 🙂

  2. March 31, 2010 7:18 am

    Good luck! I ran a 1/2 marathon a while ago, but didn’t train for it nearly enough and wanted to die at the end!

Leave a Reply

