Skip to content

Finalize.

June 3, 2009

Valley of 1000 Hills

Valley of 1000 Hills

Kyla went to South Africa!
February 24, 2009 – April 15, 2009

First of all, thank you to so many of you who not only supported me financially, but who sent many prayers and words of encouragement throughout my trip. You sustained me while I was gone and continue to do so as I adjust to life in the U.S.

As you know, I worked with Angels of Mercy Pregnancy Crisis Centre in Durban, South Africa. The Pregnancy Centre is located on the property of a Methodist Church, alongside a school for underprivileged children. I lived in the centre with a roommate who was truly a gift from God. Nokuthula seemed to be the South African version of myself. We spent most evenings together, making dinner, talking, laughing, or watching movies. She taught me Zulu and guided me through the culture.

The majority of my involvement with the centre surrounded doing administrative work. This meant anything from designing and copying flyers, to typing letters and creating Excel databases. I also contributed ideas for basic operations and organized as much as possible. Angels of Mercy Pregnancy Crisis Centre opened in July 2008, so the organization is fairly young and still developing. I did everything that I could to support the organization in the projects they have already established. I was able to give them many suggestions, such as creating a donation closet. Finally, as the first international volunteer, I was a guinea pig for how to host volunteers, giving feedback and paving the way for others.
One of my largest projects was to run the Girls’ Think Twice Programme(GTTP). The GTTP, is a programme for teenage girls to learn about pregnancy and the responsibilities of caring for a baby. It ran for two hours each day during Holy Week (the week before Easter Sunday). I organized volunteers, came up with ideas, and led devotions every morning with the volunteers.

Of course, there were many other things that took place while I was there. I enjoyed myself, did my best at giving my all to the centre, struggled, and laughed. Now I’m back in Nashville, Tennessee, living day by day and making decisions about “what’s next”. I’ve had one job interview and sent around 40 applications. For now, I’m attempting to stay in Nashville, but that could change depending on the job situation. God has provided for yesterday and today, so I’m trusting Him to provide for tomorrow as well.

You will find photos of my trip here and here.

I am constantly praising God for you and bringing you to him in prayer. You have been a great encouragement to me for many years, and I am thankful for the opportunity to share this experience with you.
Grace and Peace.

People:

Nerisha, one of the volunteers I trained, is struggling with her faith. As her father is Hindu and her mother claims Christianity, Nerisha feels that choosing a faith would mean choosing a parent. Now that she is a steady volunteer at the Centre (thanks for praying for the new assistant!) she will hopefully be engaged in more conversations about Christ.
Pat, the Centre founder and director, was extremely gracious to me as she relinquished many tasks to my hands as well as spent time with me, teaching me what I needed to know in order that the centre would run smoothly. God has given her a great vision and I’m glad that I could partake in it.
Shelly & Sarah, Shelly, the American sister of a former coworker of mine, is married to a South African and lives about 10 minutes from the centre. She helped me in my transition, as she was not only a tour guide for me, but was a great friend and comfort to have close by. Sarah, a friend I’ve known for several years, spent weekends with me, providing rest and needed encouragement.

Prayer Items:

• That Angels of Mercy could hire a full-time Assistant Director
• A way for the Centre to accept international donations
• A job! And discernment about where to apply.
• Praise God for his daily provisions, especially for TJ & Holly, who have opened their home to me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 8:22 pm

    Keep us posted on the Great Job Hunt girlie. My Matt has been doing the search for almost a year… we still pray without ceasing! Hugs to you and miss you LOTS!

Leave a Reply

