Skip to content

Re-wind

March 10, 2009

It seems my blog post yesterday was a fail on many accounts. I’ll probaby try to re-post the photos at some point as well as add more (obviously). Also, yesterday I couldn’t really think clearly to write a focused post. Maybe today will be better.

The last week was basically an orientaion for me. I spent a lot of time meeting and getting to know many people.  Wednesday was my first day at the Centre, and it began with going to a school and observing a program called Think Twice: Undiluted. It’s a program that talks about STIs, sex, and the issues related to both.  We went to a second school on Friday where I had the opportunity to be a little more involved. The kids are definitely entertained by my “American” accent! As Friday was Women’s Day of Prayer, I also shared a devotional with the girls in this school and then a shorter version in a school assembly.

Thursday I spent the day with this cool lady. Her brother is a friend of mine in the States. Shelly happens to live very close to the Pregnancy Centre. Such a small world! I’m looking forward to getting to know her and her family better while I’m here. She has two children and we enjoyed Ushakka for the day. Ushakka = Seaworld. I saw my first dolphin show! We had a great day ending with spinach lasagna. A day at seaworld with two fantastic children, a new friend, and healthy food. Life is grand.

Saturday I spent the entire day with the youth leader and several youth learning the game of Cricket. I was suprised at how much I enjoyed it. I even came home with a South African flag! Who knew that a game that lasts five days could be so fun? On that note, I’m glad we only went for one of the five.

That gives you a little idea of what I’ve been up to.. The next few weeks are going to be busy! I talked with the director of the Pregnancy Centre this morning and have more of an idea of what I’ll be doing while I’m here. Including, but not limited to, 2 fundraisers, and helping with a program called “Galz Clubhouse”, which is a week-long program for girls to learn what it’s like to be pregnant and care for a baby, as well as talk about other sex-related issues. When I’m not preparing for those, I’ll continue with the Think Twice: Undiluted program, as well as helping a little with the youth group here. There will be plenty of time for fun as well, so be on the lookout for great photos (as long as they post correctly)!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

