Skip to content

Aqui estoy.

February 27, 2009

Dear Mom,

I am safe and sound in Botswana, stop worrying. I couldn’t call you because I was here. I had a great flight (international flights are wonderful when you have a row to yourself), was picked up from the airport and driven directly to a campsite. I had no phone or internet access, but I am here and alive. There was a close call with a leopard this morning, but since I could only see him through binoculars I wasn’t too worried.

Tomorrow and Sunday I’m privileged to continue to spend with my dear friends here in Botswana. They are giving me a great orientation. I’m thankful that they’ve lived here for three years and can explain the vocabulary.

That’s all for now. Short and sweet. I will post pictures at some point, but it’s 11pm here. Time for bed, busy day tomorrow.

Love,

Kyla Joy

P.S. Don’t dial the country code when you’re using skype. It dials it for you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Oswaldo permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:23 pm

    Hola Kyla!!!

    Wow, el titulo “Aqui estoy” me recordo de una cancion cristiana muy buena. Se trata de una persona diciendole a Dios “Aqui estoy” dando a entender que esta lista para ser usada por Dios. Que buen titulo escogiste. Me alegro mucho saber que todo esta bien contigo por alla por esa region super remota del mundo, hahaha, y que sigues viva. Te escribo luego.

    Tu amigo,

    Oswaldo ^_^.

    PD: Leopardos: animales peligrosos que disfrutan comer carne americana fresca ^_^. Mucho ojo con los leopardillos por ahi, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

