Skip to content

Process group.

February 12, 2009

I just finished this book. Did you know that there are over 27 million slaves in the world? Let me repeat.

Twenty.

Seven.

Million.

Slaves.

And what am I going to do about it?

Nothing. Yes, that’s right. Nothing. Well maybe I’ll write a blog post about it. Or maybe I’ll think about the fact that 27 million is a giant number. I’ll think about how cool it is that organizations like Freedom House, HumanTrafficking.org, and International Justice Mission are doing something about it. Better  yet, I’ll even pray for them.

But I’m still going to go home, enjoy my comfortable house, my 8-4:30 (sweet, I know.) work day, go on dates, and play in the sunshine.  Maybe, on a generous day, I’ll give a few dollars to someone who asks. I’ll eat out at nice restaurants and expect good service. I’ll stay in hotels and expect a clean room.

And I’ll tell myself that it’s okay. That there is grace for this. That not everyone is called to serve Christ by freeing slaves, but that I’m called to do great things for Christ right here. That I’m going to (hello?) Africa, and that the purpose of the trip is working towards justice. I know these things are true. I know that I faithfully serve Him. Or, do I?

How much is grace, and how much is just me taking the easy way out? If you know me well, you know that I hate admitting what I’m about to. I like my comfortable life. I like having my house in order and having it overflowing with fabulous appliances. I like going out to eat often with my friends. I like congratulating IJM for a job well done and for their courage. Yet, these things don’t satisfy me. Perhaps because I, we, have been called for something much greater than comfort. Much greater than stability. Much, much greater.

Somewhere I got the idea that we can’t all be the “rich man” and give our possessions to the poor. Jesus only called him to do that because he was holding onto his possessions. I’m not convinced. In fact, I think it’s an outright lie that was made up so that I can feel better about my cushy life. What would it look like if we all gave up everything we have to relieve the oppressed? What would it look like if I gave all of myself to others?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 7:19 pm

    Giiirl that is some awesome writing. I just got an update from IJM too. As we all eat the chocolate at Valentines this year, we should be thinking about the slaves that cut upon the cacao pods with machetes on the Ivory Coast…

    Thanks for the reminder. (BTW – have you seen “Call & Response” yet?)

Leave a Reply

