Skip to content

Old is relative

January 13, 2009
tags: , ,

It’s time for a fun post. I need a break from this deep thinking. If you haven’t already, check out my blogroll. There’s some great writing in there.

We all have those days when we can “feel our age”. Now, I’m really not that old. Anyone older than 30 is going to laugh when I say “I feel old”. I’m saying it anyway. I feel old!

I ate oatmeal this morning. And enjoyed it.

I baked bread and cookies on Sunday, and loved it. Now this doesn’t qualify someone for being old. But I specifically remember an instance when I was a youngin in which I defiantely told my mom “I’m never going to learn to cook, I don’t need to. I hate it.”

I can call my 17 year old sister at 11:30pm on a weekday and she’s still wide awake, texting her friends. I can’t call any of my own  friends at 11:30pm, unless there is an emergency (or it’s Friday night).

I get excited about new kitchen tools and/or appliances.

If I eat too much dairy, I’ll have gas. My friend, T, tells me that many adults have this problem by at least the age of 30, because our bodies no longer carry the enzymes to digest the dairy. So don’t try and pretend that this doesn’t happen to you.

I can remember my parents, when they were my age. (!)

And the list goes on. But mostly, I ate oatmeal this morning and enjoyed it. Plain oatmeal (well, until I spiced it up with cinnamon, banana, and soy milk). Who enjoys plain oatmeal? To top if off, I enjoyed it even more because it was ORGANIC oatmeal. Yum!

Back to work. Or to my blogroll. Do something today that makes you feel young!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Vicky permalink
    February 4, 2009 1:13 am

    I’m older than you, but younger than your dad and the ONLY way I like oatmeal is when you add it to chocolate, butter and milk and make no-bake oatmeal cookies!

  2. Rochelle permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:37 pm

    I teach middle school. They make me feel old almost everyday. For Christmas I got a blender and a tea kettle and was excited!!! I understand how you feel. I wonder if it gets better or worse as we get older.

  3. January 14, 2009 8:56 pm

    Call me, yo. Man…sad about the dairy. I love me some ice cream!

    Got your letter…stay tuned for a reply from us! 🙂

  4. January 14, 2009 5:00 pm

    I’m old. And I’m a night person. You can call me anytime before midnight. But don’t you dare call me before 10am. ;o)

  5. January 13, 2009 10:57 pm

    my mom was pregnant with me, her second child, at my age. so that makes me feel old in a different way.

    AND you’re totally right…if you call me at 11:30 you are out of luck. actually, someone sent me an e-mail at the early hour of 9:30 the other night, and THEY were out of luck.

Leave a Reply

