Skip to content

And He called it: sin.

January 12, 2009

When I was a little younger, sin was just something I did wrong on a long list of “don’ts”, something that I felt guilty about mostly because I wasn’t supposed to do it. Plus, if I got caught, I didn’t want to have to hear the lecture that was soon to follow from whomever wanted to tell me that what I did was wrong.

In my mid-20’s, sin is entirely different.

Now, I’m seeing how my sin immediately effects others. I’m seeing the sins of others and how the result is wide-spread …like throwing a cigarette butt into a forest during a dry season. One small action changes creation forever. And this sin doesn’t just deserve a stern lecture (or a spanking, back in my younger years) and then it’s over with. This sin ruins lives. Adulthood and community bring the reality of sin into my life much more quickly than I understood even a year ago.

Sin is ugly. Messy. Painful.

Your sin effects me. My sin effects you. And this is not a good thing.

Romans 5

 19For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous.

20The law was added so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more,

..he who came to take away the sin of the world.

There are many things that each human being has in common. Sin is one of them. That Christ has already solved that problem, another. What a great way to be united with other people. To realize that each of us has a dark past (and don’t try and lie and say that your secrets aren’t as dark as or are darker than mine. I know that’s a lie just as much as you do), but that “through the obedience of the one man, the many will be made righteous.”

Glorious.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

