Skip to content

Rain, rain, go away

December 17, 2008

I’m blaming my bad moods on the rain. It’s been so dark and dreary around here for the last week. I need the sun!

Yesterday, I got off of work unexpectedly early. I spent the afternoon checking out a local guitar shop and an antique/lamp shop. This was awesome because I really love lamps! I even went back with a lamp from my great-grandmother and he told me all about it, and how I can get it repaired. So cool.

In an attempt to focus on the positive, since all of my recent thoughts are extremely negative, here are some things that I’m thankful for. I tried to post this with the expected Thanksgiving “thankful for __” list, but my draft didn’t save and the computer deleted it… And, here we go.

  1. I have a job
  2. My bills are paid
  3. I have food to eat
  4. I have a bed to sleep in
  5. My family loves me
  6. I have a family
  7. I have a university degree
  8. Lots of things that I have….
  9. Apple cider when it’s cold out
  10. The written word
  11. Other countries and cultures
  12. Experts
  13. I’m basically healthy
  14. Other vegetarians
  15. History
  16. Church
  17. Libraries
  18. Animals
  19. Trees
  20. Social workers
  21. Being an extrovert
  22. Technology
  23. Airplanes
  24. Deep conversations (see previous post)
  25. People who actually read my blog
  26. Norah Jones
  27. Jazz
  28. Musical expression
  29. Art
  30. Dance. yes.
  31. Easy mac
  32. Free food
  33. Gifts
  34. Ten typing fingers
  35. Forced childhood piano lessons
  36. Men
  37. The sun
  38. Holidays, aka built-in vacation days
  39. That I’ve never been tortured, beaten, or physically harmed by another person
  40. Thrift stores – who needs chain retail stores? no, thank you.
  41. Craigslist
  42. Drain-O, even though it doesn’t work it makes me feel less helpless
  43. Someone once taught me how to follow a dance lead
  44. Laughter
  45. Google maps & google search
  46. Organic food
  47. Bloggers, who give me something to do all day
  48. I can speak Spanish at my job
  49. I can speak Spanish!
  50. That I’m ending this list because 50 is plenty, but I could continue.

Congratulations on reading the list. Extra points to you if you read the entire thing. Now, back to apartment searching…

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 9:17 pm

    I read your blog! You are thankful for me!

    I am thankful for you. 🙂

    And I love the rain and the bad weather. It makes me so happy!!! Cozy melancholy.

Leave a Reply

