Skip to content

Baby steps

December 10, 2008

Do you remember What About Bob? and his book of Baby Steps? Baby steps to the door, baby steps to the elevator, baby steps to four o’clock, etc.

During many stressed-out days in college, my dear friend, B, would tell me over and over, “Just take it one thing at a time, Kyla, one thing at a time”. Like Bob’s baby steps, it worked. When I focused on just one thing, I could complete that and move on to the next. Stress was much more manageable when I didn’t try to conquer the world all at once.

Unfortunately, I can’t seem to apply this lesson to the rest of my life. I’ve been trying to make several of those pesky major life decisions (who isn’t?), and they just keep beating me down. Well, not quite. Mostly, I’ve chosen to ignore them and just keep going, but that continues to leave me dissatisfied. I fail to even apply B’s college rule, because frankly, I don’t know which one decision to start with. However, I am at the least getting something out of the uncertainty. Yes, Kyla Joy is growing up.

I’m being challenged and shaped in ways that only God can create. He is definitely the potter, and I am the clay. It’s amazing to me that I keep finding new questions to ask, there is no end to them. Each question brings me to a new stage of growth in relationship with God. Although I don’t know which direction to take that baby step, I’m at least sure that God knows where we’re going. I praise Him for his soveriegnty, but in my sinful human-ness, I’m still going to ask for specific answers.

Isaiah 45:8-9
     “You heavens above, rain down righteousness;
       let the clouds shower it down.
       Let the earth open wide,
       let salvation spring up,
       let righteousness grow with it;
       I, the LORD, have created it.

     “Woe to him who quarrels with his Maker,
       to him who is but a potsherd among the potsherds on the ground.
       Does the clay say to the potter,
       ‘What are you making?’
       Does your work say,
       ‘He has no hands’?

Isaiah 64: 8
       Yet, O LORD, you are our Father.
       We are the clay, you are the potter;
       we are all the work of your hand.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

