Skip to content

Mornin’

October 22, 2008

Stretch! Gooood Morning!

I woke up a little early this morning (well, on time actually, I just never manage to get up when I’m supposed to. Darn snooze button) to finish putting together Vegetarian Chili for dinner tonight. It’s a good thing that I prepped last night, so that all I would need to do this morning was cook the veggies and throw it all together. Gotta love crockpots.

I’m pretty proud of myself. I’m right on with the meal planning thing this week. Hopefully I won’t be too disappointed when I remember that this won’t happen again for another three months.

Back to the chili. I decided to use dry beans, so I soaked them all night last night. Only, the recipe calls for canned beans, which are already cooked, and I didn’t cook the dry beans before mixing them in the crockpot with the rest of the chili. I figured, 8 hours in a crockpot is enough time to cook them, right? Right? Who’s with me?

Should I be worried? Hopefully my friends are gracious enough to appreciate the hard work that my crockpot did in making the chili, even if it doesn’t taste like Grandma’s.

Here’s to all of you out there who enjoy meal planning and are motivated enough to do so on a weekly basis. 

And to those of you who cook your beans before cooking them. May all your dreams come true.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

